top of page

The Dress

After searching for the perfect venue, choosing the colour schemes and concentrating on attention to detail, what I have found out whilst planning a wedding is that everyone has one thing on their mind. THE DRESS!

I have always been the type of girl who knows exactly what she wants, which from experience I have found is not a good thing as things don't always go to plan. So when it came down to finding my dream wedding dress I didn't spend too much time looking for inspiration as I wanted to start my search being open to lots of different options. The only thing I did plan was a range of local dress shops that I could visit.

David's Bridal Westfield - Stratford (28.10.2017)

Davids Bridal which is located in Stratford Westfield is where I started the search for my dream dress. I went with my mum, best friend and future mother in law. I had lots of personal recommendations to visit this particular shop due to its variety of dresses and good reputation however, after trying of a whole range of dresses from Princess to Fishtail I just couldn't find a dress I liked. This wasn't a complete waste of time though as it really helps you to identify the style of dress that you defiantly don't want.

Confetti & Lace Lakeside (06.12.2017)

The next stop on my list was Confetti and Lace in lakeside. This is the store that appears in "Say Yes to the Dress UK." Prior to visiting the store I had heard mixed reviews about the store because of its appearance on TV but as it is local to us I thought I would give it a chance anyway and this time I went with just my mum. We arrived in time for our appointment to be welcomed by such lovely staff. We were the only customers in the store at this point so we were lucky enough to be shown around all the dresses on our own. I told the assistant that was serving us the types of dresses that i didn't like due to my experiences from the previous store. From the information that i gave her she was able to find some of the dresses that best suited my description and I absolutely loved almost all of them. After trying on 5 or 6 dresses that I really really liked I was then shown a dress that I fell in love with. It really is true what they say. When its 'The One' you instantly know. I loved it before I had even tried it on. It was called Jamie by Ronald Joyce. It was everything I wanted and more and after trying it on I knew I just had to get it.

Alterations (07.07.2017)

When my dress was finally made and delivered to the store they gave me a call to let me know that my dress had arrived. I was able to make an appointment to try on my dress and within a few days thats exactly what I did. It was amazing to try it on properly as the dress I had originally tried on was way to big. It allowed me to get a really nice feel for the dress and to admire all of the detail all over again. After buying my dress back in December I knew I would need some alterations as I was trying to shift a little bit of weight in time for the wedding. Another appointment was made to get some alterations done. In store they have a fixed price. This allows you to get as many alterations made to the dress as you need as many times as you need them before the big day. When I returned for my alterations and fitting I was given the opportunity to walk around in my dress again (which I couldn't get enough of) so that I knew exactly what I needed changing, After a short chat with Katie (my seamstress) she began pinning. She was very professional and knew exactly what she was doing so I knew I was in good hands. I then went away and returned for a further fitting after my alterations had been made. We then found a few other things that needed a little nip and tuck so that my dress fitted me like a glove. As I had paid the fix price it was so hassle free and I felt that I could really make sure that my dream dress was perfect.

Our Big Day (10.08.2017)

I brought my dress home only a couple of days before the wedding and I kept it hidden until our big day. Each time you see your dress it never gets old and you really do fall in love with it all over again. So seeing it hanging there in front of my on my wedding day felt like the first time I had ever seen it and I loved it just as much as the first time (maybe even more.)

AP xx


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page